Forever in our Hearts

A little while ago, I bought some new ornaments for our Christmas tree. I picked up a “Baby’s First Christmas” ornament for Little G. While I was at it, I had one inscribed in memory of Baby J. I just couldn’t let this Christmas go by without doing something to remember her.

The inevitable happened. My oldest daughter, Lady M, asked me about the ornament. I told her it was for Baby J and the she asked, “But who is that Mommy?” I asked her if she remembered that Mommy had two babies in her belly, but only Little G came home from the hospital.

Then Lady M asked me, “But why did she die?”

And I was silent. I could feel tears building up and my eyes started to burn. I was searching my brain for all the literature I had read about talking to your kids about death. Finally I just did what I always try to do which is to answer as honestly and as simply as possible.

“When there is more than one baby in a Mommy’s belly, ” I told her, “it can be dangerous and sometimes the babies don’t make it.”

M just sort of nodded. I offered to show her a picture of Baby J. M kindly declined the offer and then asked for a snack.

About needssaying

I am a stay at home mom of 2 adorable, smart and sassy girls who needs an outlet for her snarky tendencies. Thanks for letting me share my thoughts with you.
This entry was posted in Super Mommy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment