There is a First Time for Everything

I just did something I have never done in my 33 years. I declined a legitimate job offer. The whole ordeal was a whirlwind and part of me is disgusted with myself for not jumping on the opportunity. The other part of me is patting myself on the back for going with my gut instead of my obnoxiously rational brain.

I’m trying to rationalize my decision: Its just not the right time. The baby needs me. Something doesn’t feel right. Who knows? Maybe I’m just terrified. Maybe I’m just lazy. Maybe I’m just not ready to commit to yet another thing. But really who turns down a job with a flexible schedule making more money than you asked for with a 5 minute commute time?  Who?

I do apparently. I promised myself when I left my last job, that the next job I take would be one I truly wanted and was excited about, This wasn’t it. I am fortunate that I do not have to work. So if and when I choose to return to the workplace, I want to feel “great” about it. I want the butterflies in my stomach to be from nervous excitement and not dread and doubt.

I will probably be kicking myself for a while. However when I take my girls to the beach next week or hang with my girlfriends by the pool on a weekday afternoon, I’m pretty sure I’ll be happy with my decision to say “Thanks, but no thanks.”

About needssaying

I am a stay at home mom of 2 adorable, smart and sassy girls who needs an outlet for her snarky tendencies. Thanks for letting me share my thoughts with you.
This entry was posted in Super Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment