To Be or Not To Be

Have you heard the term, “Helicopter Mom?” The term refers to those moms who constantly hover over their children in every setting. I am not one of those moms. You could call what I do “Lazy Parenting.” I like to think that I am giving my children is the gift of independence.

Last week during Lady M’s cooking class, while the future culinary geniuses were waiting for their creations to finish baking,  Lady M decided to take a potty break. The other kids were playing in the play area and the adults were sitting around chatting.  Another Mom taps me on the shoulder and says to me, “You might want to go check on your daughter, I think she’s having trouble in the bathroom.”

I, of course, jump up and run to the restroom. This is where my True Mom Confession rolls in. I ran because I didn’t want the other moms to think I didn’t care, not because I was concerned. Lady M has been toilet trained for -oh I don’t know- forever. Ok almost three years and as long as the toilets don’t automatically flush she is just fine on her own.

I walked in there and asked if she needed help. She asked me why everyone kept asking her that and she was just washing her hands. Apparently the other mom kept checking on her because she had been in there awhile. The poor girl was just trying to “go” to the bathroom if you catch my drift and she couldn’t because people kept interrupting.

My eldest daughter has a mean independent streak. She wants to do everything herself and is successful most of the time. When I take her to school she prefers to be dropped off at carpool and met by her teacher rather than have me park and walk her in. She doesn’t need or want me to hover.

I know this. I respect this. Most of all I am grateful for it.  So why is it that I feel judged by helicopter moms when I am not all up in my daughter’s face all the time?

About needssaying

I am a stay at home mom of 2 adorable, smart and sassy girls who needs an outlet for her snarky tendencies. Thanks for letting me share my thoughts with you.
This entry was posted in Super Mommy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment