Well at Least I Did It

I am in a whole lot of pain right now. My shoulders, wrists, quads, glutes, and just about everything else hurts. 

“What on earth did you do to yourself this time?”

Well I’m glad you asked. I ran the Great Bay 5k yesterday. After all that training, and then the laziness, I bit the bullet and registered a few weeks ago. The date snuck up on me and I had a momentary panic attack Friday night.  Then I took a deep breath, cracked open a beer, and said to hell with it.

I woke up Saturday morning and looked out my window. As advertised, the starting line was right in front of my house. Realizing how crappy it would be to back out. I got up, fed everyone breakfast, got dressed, and pinned my number on. (Did you know they called those bibs? Well now you know.)

I went out about 5 minutes before the start time. On the way out the door, I asked Lady M if she wanted to come out on the porch and cheer for Mommy and the other runners. She said, “No thanks, I’m going to watch PBS Kids.” Well then

 There were 1000 participants of all ages, shapes, sizes, and fitness levels. The race got going and I had to resist the urge to try to keep up with the real runners. As we rounded the first corner, more and more people passed me by. The octogenarian, the family (including a little boy who couldn’t have been more than 8 years old) dressed like the Incredibles, countless parents with jogging strollers and several competitive walkers passed me by.

I was starting to feel sorry for myself. I mean I knew I was slow, but damn. Then we hit the mile mark and the clock read 12:58. I ran the first mile in 13 minutes. I realize that this is by no means competitive, but it is still faster than I ran in high school, so I was quite pleased.

I finished the race in 41 minutes and change.  There were still people behind me. SUCCESS.

About needssaying

I am a stay at home mom of 2 adorable, smart and sassy girls who needs an outlet for her snarky tendencies. Thanks for letting me share my thoughts with you.
This entry was posted in Super Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well at Least I Did It

  1. kate says:

    that is awesome! Big YAY for you!!!!

  2. Kelly says:

    That’s so Awesome! Come do the Tri with me next year.

Leave a comment